2021 Carole Bailey Scholarship Rules

Application acceptance start date:  June 15, 2021

Application acceptance end date:  August 15, 2021 (11:59pm Eastern Time)

The U.S. Court of Federal Claims Bar Association will award at least one annual law student scholarship of up to $5,000.00, in honor of the Court’s former Chief Deputy Clerk of Administrative Services, Carole Bailey.

Carole had been asked to serve as assistant dean for administration at Delaware (now Widener) School of Law when she met Judge Loren Smith.  A few months later, she moved to Washington, D.C., to serve at the Administrative Conference with Judge Smith.  She followed him to the Court of Federal Claims in 1985, serving as then Chief Judge Smith’s first chief of staff and law clerk.  Two years later, she left the Court to join the FTC, and ultimately moved to Atlantic City, where she operated a successful construction supply business with her husband, and eventually became an adjunct professor of business at the local community college.  In 2001, she returned to D.C. and, seeing the needs in the D.C. school system, wrote to the Superintendent of D.C. schools, offering her assistance to do anything, eventually serving as a 4th grade teacher and adjunct professor at the University of the District of Columbia.  In 2003, Carole returned to the Court as a staff attorney, and rose rapidly through the ranks, culminating in her position as Chief Deputy Clerk, from which she retired at the end of 2011.  During her tenure with the Court, Carole worked closely with the Bar Association and provided invaluable help to the Association in its mission to serve the Bar of the Court.

In commemoration of Carole’s longstanding commitment to public service and her tireless efforts in working with and providing assistance to the Bar Association, the Bar Association is pleased to award scholarships to law students with a demonstrated commitment to public service.

Who may apply?

Any student who is:

  1. Enrolled or enrolling in any law school accredited by the American Bar Association for the 2021/2022 academic year; and,
  2. Able to demonstrate either an interest in pursuing a public service legal career, or a past or present commitment to public service.
  3. An interest in the subject matter jurisdiction of the Court of Federal Claims is beneficial but not necessary for an applicant to be selected.

How to apply?

An application must include:

  1. curriculum vitae or résumé that contains the applicant’s current contact information, including email and phone number;
  2. The applicant’s most recent transcript (undergraduate, graduate or law school);
  3. A letter of recommendation from a professor or any other suitable person; and,
  4. An original essay written by the applicant alone.  The essay is limited to no more than 600 words and should address any interests, experiences or other qualifications considered relevant by the applicant that demonstrate an interest in pursuing a public service legal career, or a past or present commitment to public service.

Unofficial transcripts will be accepted.  For those applicants who have not yet begun law school, and who therefore cannot provide a law school transcript, please submit a copy of your letter of acceptance to law school and proof that you are enrolling in that school for the 2021/2022 academic year.

Submissions must be transmitted in PDF format only by email to sandy@cfcbar.orgPlease (i) send only one (1) PDF file; (ii) identify each submission by noting “CFC Carole Bailey Scholarship Submission” in the “Subject” line.  Unfortunately, the Bar Association cannot process incomplete applications, nor will the Association contact an individual noting deficiencies in the application.  All applications must be received no later than 11:59pm Eastern Time on August 15, 2021.

Who judges the scholarship applications?

The applications will be evaluated by four members of the Bar Association’s Board of Governors, who comprise the Law Student Scholarship committee, as well as a judicial officer of the Court.  Carole Bailey, or her designee, will serve as an ex officio member of the committee.

How and when will I be notified if I am awarded the scholarship?

A representative of the Bar Association will contact the recipient by email or telephone, and then by regular mail, on or before November 15, 2021.  Applicants need not make follow-up inquiries about the status of their applications.

The U.S. Court of Federal Claims Bar Association is a 501(c)(3) organization, and is awarding this scholarship in furtherance of that status.

2019 Carole Bailey Scholarship Winner

This year’s Carole Bailey Scholarship recipient is Thomas Gooding. Thomas’ essay was chosen “best” out of over 60 submissions and he will receive a $5,000 scholarship! Thomas attends Georgetown University Law School and wrote, as did all applicants, about the privilege and power of a public service vocation and what that means to him. He is a very worthy winner and thanks to the Judges who had the pleasure of  rating the excellent candidates this year. 

2014 Carole Bailey Scholarship Winner

The winner of the 2014 Carole Bailey Scholarship is Xheni Llaguri, a third year law student at the University of Maryland, Francis King Carey School of Law.  Before law school, Ms. Llaguri taught elementary grade students in the Teach for America program.  She has demonstrated additional dedication to public service, working in various capacities involving such issues as homelessness, immigration and naturalization, and health law.  With her law degree, Ms. Llaguri intends be an advocate for students with special needs and promote equal opportunity education.

The bar association received more applications this year than in any previous year.  As with last year, the quality of the applications was truly impressive, especially with regard to the commitment to public service exhibited.  The bar association welcomes submissions from this year’s applicants again next year, so long as they have not completed their legal education.

2013 Carole Bailey Scholarship Winner

The winner of the 2013 Carole Bailey Scholarship is Andrew Murray, a first year law student at Vanderbilt Law School. Before law school, Andrew worked for several years in the social services field and intends to become an advocate for marginalized people.

The bar association received a large number of applications, most of which were highly meritorious and deserving of substantial praise. The scholarship committee was very impressed by the commitment to public service exhibited by all the applicants and welcomes them to compete again next year as long as they have not completed their legal education.

2012 Carole Bailey Scholarship Winner

The winner of the 2012 Carole Bailey Scholarship is Jessica Emerson.  Jessica is a 3L at the University of Baltimore School of Law.  Both before and during law school, Jessica has done a great deal of work helping survivors of sexual exploitation.  She also has specific plans to have a large impact in this area in the future.  Congratulations to Jessica!


Jessica Emerson (left) and Carole Bailey (right)