COMMITTEES



Standing Committees

Law and Practice Education (Brown Bags)

This committee is responsible for planning and organization of "brown bag" educational programs held at the Court throughout the year.  In addition to organizing programs of general interest to the Bar, the committee coordinates with the substantive committees to hold programs addressing each of the major substantive areas of the Court's jurisdiction.

David Harrington
U.S. Department of Justice
Tel:  (202) 305-0244
david.harrington2@usdoj.gov 

Colleen Hartley
U.S. Department of Justice
Tel:  (202) 616-3644
colleen.hartley@usdoj.gov

Amanda Tantum
U.S. Department of Justice
Tel:  (202) 616-8131
amanda.tantum@usdoj.gov
 

Membership

This committee is responsible for developing and implementing strategies for maximizing new membership, as well as for ensuring retention of existing membership.

Leah Durant
Law Offices of Leah V. Durant, PLLC
Tel:  (202) 800-1711
ldurant@durantllc.com

Alex Hontos
Dorsey & Whitney LLP
Tel:  (612) 492-6634
hontos.alex@dorsey.com
 

Publications

This committee is responsible for electronic publication of the Bar Association's quarterly Newsletter, as well as Inside 717.  The Newsletter provides the Association's members and the general public with information on upcoming Bar Association and Court events, as well as other topics of interest.  Inside 717 is a quarterly publication reporting on rulings in all major areas of the Court of Federal Claims' jurisdiction.  In addition, the publication often includes reports of significant Federal Circuit (and Supreme Court) decisions in cases emanating from the Court of Federal Claims, as well as occasional miscellaneous items of interest to the Court's community.  The members of the Editorial Board encourage you to browse the "What's Inside" headlines to explore significant rulings outside your primary practice area.  Archived issues of Inside 717 are also available from this webpage.

Renée J. Gentry, Esq.
The Law Office of Renée J. Gentry, Esq.
Tel:  (202) 505-6435
renee@gentryesq.com


Special Committees

These committees are created for a limited purpose and will cease their operations upon the completion of their respective assignments.

Carole Bailey Scholarship

This Committee assists the Board with the promotion and administration of the Bar Association's annual Carole Bailey Scholarship.

Danielle Sgro
U.S. Department of Justice
danielle.l.sgro@usdoj.gov

Amanda Tantum
U.S. Department of Justice
Tel:  (202) 616-8131
amanda.tantum@usdoj.gov


Governance

The Governance Committee is responsible for evaluating, monitoring, and developing recommendations with respect to Board policies and practices, organizational structure, Board roles and responsibilities, new Director education, Board composition, and strategic planning.

James Boland
Venable LLP
Tel:  (703) 760-1997
jyboland@venable.com

Jon Burd
Wiley Rein LLP
Tel:  (202) 719-7172
jburd@wileyrein.com

Julia Collison
U.S. Department of Justice
Tel:  (202) 305-0102
julia.collison@usdoj.gov

Rob Stewart
U.S. Department of Justice
Tel:  (202) 307-6493
george.r.stewart@usdoj.gov


Judicial Conference

William Bergmann
Baker & Hostetler
Tel:  (202) 861-1549
wbergmann@bakerlaw.com

David Harrington
U.S. Department of Justice
Tel:  (202) 305-0244
david.harrington2@usdoj.gov 

Amanda Tantum
U.S. Department of Justice
Tel:  (202) 616-8131
amanda.tantum@usdoj.gov


Private-Bar Pro Bono Pilot Program

This committee facilitates the operation of a private-bar pilot program for representation of pro bono plaintiffs in cases referred by the Court.

Jessica Olins
Maglio Christopher & Toale, P.A.
Tel:  (888) 952-5242
jolins@mctlaw.comjolins@mctlaw.com