COMMITTEES



Standing Committees

Law and Practice Education (Brown Bags)

This committee is responsible for planning and organization of "brown bag" educational programs held at the Court throughout the year.  In addition to organizing programs of general interest to the Bar, the committee coordinates with the substantive committees to hold programs addressing each of the major substantive areas of the Court's jurisdiction.

Jon Burd (Co-Chair)
Wiley Rein
Tel:  (202) 719-7172
jburd@wileyrein.com

Edward Passarelli (Co-Chair)
U.S. Department of Justice
Environment & Natural Resources Division
Washington, DC
edward.passarelli@usdoj.gov

James Boland
Venable LLP
Tel:  (703) 760-1997
jyboland@venable.com

James Connor
U.S. Department of Justice
Tel:  (202) 307-6290
james.connor@usdoj.gov

Matthew Solomson
Booz Allen Hamilton
McLean, VA
Tel: (703) 902-7197
solomson_matthew@bah.com

Membership

This committee is responsible for developing and implementing strategies for maximizing new membership, as well as for ensuring retention of existing membership.

Co-Chairs:

William Bergmann
Baker & Hostetler LLP
Tel:  (202) 861-1549
wbergmann@bakerlaw.com

Allison Kidd-Miller
U.S. Department of Justice
Civil Division, National Courts Section
Washington, DC
Tel: (202) 305-3020
allison.kidd-miller@usdoj.gov

Publications

This committee is responsible for electronic publication of the Bar Association's quarterly Newsletter, as well as Inside 717.  The Newsletter provides the Association's members and the general public with information on upcoming Bar Association and Court events, as well as other topics of interest.  Inside 717 is a quarterly publication reporting on rulings in all major areas of the Court of Federal Claims' jurisdiction.  In addition, the publication often includes reports of significant Federal Circuit (and Supreme Court) decisions in cases emanating from the Court of Federal Claims, as well as occasional miscellaneous items of interest to the Court's community.  The members of the Editorial Board encourage you to browse the "What's Inside" headlines to explore significant rulings outside your primary practice area.  Archived issues of Inside 717 are also available from this webpage.

Co-Chair & Editor-in-Chief of Newsletter and Inside 717:
James Connor
U.S. Department of Justice
Tel: (202) 307-6290
james.connor@usdoj.gov

Co-Chair & Editor-in-Chief of Inside 717:
Allison Kidd-Miller
U.S. Department of Justice
Civil Division, National Courts Section
Washington, DC
Tel: (202) 305-3020
allison.kidd-miller@usdoj.gov

Chair of Deskbook for Practitioners:
Jeffrey M. Chiow
Rogers Joseph O'Donnell
Tel:  (202) 777-8952
jchiow@rjo.com

Rules

This committee is responsible for reviewing any changes made to the Rules of the Court of Federal Claims, and preparing draft comments on behalf of the Bar Association.  In addition the committee is responsible for undertaking periodic review of existing rules of the Court and proposing any changes of general benefit to the entire Bar.

Don Grove (Co-Chair)
Nordhaus Law Firm
Tel:  (202) 530-1270
DGrove@nordhauslaw.com

Edward Passarelli (Co-Chair)
U.S. Department of Justice
Environment & Natural Resources Division
Washington, DC
edward.passarelli@usdoj.gov

Allison Kidd-Miller
U.S. Department of Justice
Civil Division, National Courts Section
Washington, DC
Tel: (202) 305-3020
allison.kidd-miller@usdoj.gov

Altom Maglio
Maglio, Christopher & Toale, PA
Sarasota, FL
Tel: (888) 952-5242
amm@mctplaw.com


Substantive Committees

Each substantive committee is responsible for organizing "brown bag" educational programs on subject matters of interest to attorneys who practice in the respective substantive area.  The substantive committees also are responsible for preparing monthly submissions to the Publications Committee for the monthly publication, Inside 717. The substantive committees are:

Fifth Amendment Takings

Co-Chairs:

Emily Meeker
U.S. Department of Justice
Tel:  (202) 305-0422
emily.meeker@usdoj.gov

(Vacant)

Government Contracts (includes Bid Protest)

James Connor (Co-Chair)
U.S. Department of Justice
Tel: (202) 307-6290
james.connor@usdoj.gov

John McCarthy (Co-Chair)
Crowell & Moring, LLP
Tel:  (202) 624-2579
JMcCarthy@Crowell.com

Jeffrey M. Chiow
Rogers Joseph O'Donnell
Tel:  (202) 777-8952
jchiow@rjo.com

Tracy Marion
Lanier Ford
Tel:  256-535-1100
TAM@LanierFord.com   

Indian Law

Co-Chairs:

Don Grove
Nordhaus Law Firm, LLP
Tel:  (202) 530-1270
DGrove@Nordhauslaw.com

Edward Passarelli
U.S. Department of Justice
Environment & Natural Resources Division
Washington, DC
edward.passarelli@usdoj.gov

Intellectual Property

Co-Chairs:

William Bergmann
Baker & Hostetler LLP
Tel:  (202) 861-1549
wbergmann@bakerlaw.com

John Fargo
U.S. Department of Justice
Civil Division / Commercial Litigation Branch
Washington, DC
Tel: (202) 514-7223
john.fargo@usdoj.gov

Tax

Mark Ryan (Co-Chair)
U.S. Department of Justice
Washington, DC
Tel: 202-307-6495
mark.a.ryan@usdoj.gov 

(Vacant)

Vaccine

Co-Chairs:

Joe Pepper
Conway, Homer and Chin-Caplan, P.C.
Boston, MA
Tel: 617-695-1990
jpepper@ccandh.com

Gordon Shemin
U.S. Department of Justice
Civil Division
Tel:  202-616-4208
Gordon.E.Shemin@usdoj.gov


Special Committees

These committees are created for a limited purpose and will cease their operations upon the completion of their respective assignments.

Carole Bailey Scholarship

This Committee assists the Board with the promotion and administration of the Bar Association's annual Carole Bailey Scholarship.

Ryan Pyles (Chair)
U.S. Department of Justice
Washington, DC
(202) 616-9847
ryan.pyles@usdoj.gov

Law Student Writing Competition

This Committee assists the Board with the promotion and administration of the Bar Association's annual writing competition.

Jon Burd (Chair)
Wiley Rein
Tel: (202) 719-7172
jburd@wileyrein.com

Private-Bar Pro Bono Pilot Program

This committee facilitates the operation of a private-bar pilot program for representation of pro bono plaintiffs in cases referred by the Court.

James Boland
Venable LLP
Tel:  (703) 760-1997
jyboland@venable.com

Altom Maglio
Maglio, Christopher & Toale, PA
Sarasota, FL
Tel: (888) 952-5242
amm@mctplaw.com

Lewis Wiener
Sutherland Asbill & Brennan LLP
Washington, DC
Tel:  (202) 383-0140
lewis.wiener@sutherland.com